why I love Sapporo

So the past few days have been a whirl of activity.  Since getting here and having our night of curry and alcoholic ice cream, I have managed to see the Sapporo Olympic ski jump, canoe with the kids, buy a Super Famicom with PuyoPuyo, visit Otaru and eat duck soba, and spend a night on the town in Susukino with Tomoe and her friend(which, for the record, are two of the most stylish people I know).  The best part about all of that, is it only took place across three days and we even took it pretty slow a lot of the time.

So it had been almost two years from a tear-filled day in Chitose Airport when I told my host mother, Hiromi, and her two kids (Akane, or Achan for short – girl, and Issa – boy) goodbye, not knowing when or if I would ever see them again(though I promised them and myself I would do whatever I could to come back).  It was on that same day the Hiromi told me that she was expecting a baby.  Fast forward two years and I am standing on the corner in front of Minami Hiragishi with Melissa and Molly wondering what it would be like in a few minutes when I saw that faces the for the past couple of years had only existed as 1s and 0s in easily dropped skype calls.  I know Hiromi and I have not changed so much, but surely the kids have…would they still like me?  What about the new family member?

As it turns out, these concerns would soon vanish as a white minivan/suv pulled up to meet us.  It is seriously the single greatest moment I have had since showing up to Japan in July.  I don’t mean that to say that life has been dull or anything – I have had a great time so far – but there is something about these people that is so perfect for me.

While my real family is comprised of the greatest people in the world, my Japanese family is close behind.  I look back to the process of filling out study abroad paperwork, never once thinking about the people I would meet.  A few days before coming I saw a sheet of paper with a baseball card like stat system for the family that gave me no great idea of what to expect.  “Masaaki – father – 38 – likes music” “Hiromi – mother – 34 – enjoys knitting”.  It was after arriving that I realized the part of Japan that would change me and make me love it here was not Susukino at night or Odori park at day, not shrines in Kyoto or sushi in Otaru.  The things that changed me were held hands in super markets with Akane or ice skate races with Issa, late night talks over coffee with Hiromi or first time taco meals with the family.  These people were not just nice folks that I lived with for a few months, they were family.

So all of this to say, it is wonderful to be back.  Akane and Issa are still as cute as ever and the new member, Ayato (boy) is ADORABLE.  We have had so much fun just doing little things around town, but since it is with the people I love, it is so much better.  The hard part for me is to know that I have to go back in a few days and then the distance will be back.  I do miss home so much, but being here is as close as home gets on this side of the world and it is painful to know I will once be without both.  At least I have Melissa and the Aomori gang to experience life while I wait to rush back up to Sapporo.

Adam

~ by amfenrick on September 23, 2009.

One Response to “why I love Sapporo”

  1. You guys have a good one!!! Sleep here…

Leave a comment